Did anyone else get sent an email like this?

I reproduce the whole thing in full and without any comments after the jump;

Blogger has been notified, according to the terms of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA), that certain content in your blog is alleged to infringe upon the copyrights of others. As a result, we have reset the post(s) to “draft” status. (If we did not do so, we would be subject to a claim of copyright infringement, regardless of its merits. The URL(s) of the allegedly infringing post(s) may be found at the end of this message.) This means your post – and any images, links or other content – is not gone. You may edit the post to remove the offending content and republish, at which point the post in question will be visible to your readers again.

A bit of background: the DMCA is a United States copyright law that provides guidelines for online service provider liability in case of copyright infringement. If you believe you have the rights to post the content at issue here, you can file a counter-claim. For more information on our DMCA policy, including how to file a counter-claim, please see http://www.google.com/dmca.html.

The notice that we received, with any personally identifying information removed, will be posted online by a service called Chilling Effects at http://www.chillingeffects.org. We do this in accordance with the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA). You can search for the DMCA notice associated with the removal of your content by going to the Chilling Effects search page at http://www.chillingeffects.org/search.cgi, and entering in the URL of the blog post that was removed. If it is brought to our attention that you have republished the post without removing the content/link in question, then we will delete your post and count it as a violation on your account. Repeated violations to our Terms of Service may result in further remedial action taken against your Blogger account including deleting your blog and/or terminating your account. If you have legal questions about this notification, you should retain your own legal counsel.

Sincerely,

The Blogger Team

Affected URLs:

http://readersrecommend.blogspot.com/2009/11/vip-and-zim.html

About these ads

19 thoughts on “Did anyone else get sent an email like this?

  1. I had one of these before, from boxtr.. but it removed the entire post with no ability to edit it. Really very annoying.

    after a lot of searching around I found out it was on behalf of a Chicks on Speed song I’d posted. The effect they achieved is: I will never to buy any of their stuff again or publicize tracks they have out, or put them in compilations. I’m sure that me and my 4(?) friends wont have any bearing on their career.. but there’s nice ways and nasty ways.

    went to see The Phenomenal Handclap Band after their polite request to remove so many songs from BBs (I think) blogger post.

    chilling effect sound like a nasty piece of work.. don’t wanna go there!

  2. Interestingly, your post doesn’t get mentioned in any of the DMCA notices posted at Chilling Effects (which seems to be a genuinely helpful service, actually) – but the March 16 Earworms post was listed (and now has links removed, so either Tin has already responded or Blogger has acted), as was Fintan’s WTF post from February (links still there). Can’t find your post, which I assume is because they’ve relegated it to a draft.

    Also interestingly, the letters claiming infringement don’t list the specific material where copyright breach is alleged, as Google’s guidelines specify should be the case, so you could always annoy them by demanding to have this information before considering compliance with their request.

  3. I got two for the Mar 16 earworms but it wasn’t listed on chillingeffects when I checked. I figured it might take a day or two and never went back to check since I got the notices the same day we moved.

  4. I just went and had a look at chilling effects (“which seems to be a genuinely helpful service, actually”) seams the bite is worse than their looks or something!

  5. They’re a clearing service, making the DMCA notices accessible to public view; they’re not the people sending them out or enforcing them. If anything, their name seems to suggest that they’re thoroughly anti- the whole thing.

  6. Ah. That might explain a couple of things -

    I haven’t had any emails such as you describe, Carole. But I was messing around my Dashboard the other night, and found a couple of Spill posts that were listed as drafts. I don’t remember not completing anything I started, but as they weren’t very recent I just deleted them without further investigation. DAMN!

    Now I have been a bit … OK, very lazy about deleting stuff out of the Public folder in the ‘Box, so potentially there are some songs that have been left available for rather too long; I’ll sort that later in the week.

    What I would be interested in, is if we get any similar notices now that we’ve moved house to WordPress. If it happens, anyone, please give us all a ‘heads-up’.

  7. Abahachi- never got one of these emails & I checked on the WTF files & they’ve been gone longer than the Dropbox tracks. Just a harrasing volley?

  8. Or you may have been spared by some terrible formatting in the original takedown request – they seem to have failed to press the return key a couple of times, which means that it would take Blogger longer to mail out stroppy messages (or, if they do it using an automated system, it simply wouldn’t work).

  9. Haven’t had one of these for while that I know of. On the bright side your taste must be more popular than you thought. Google sending an offending post to draft rather than deleting entire Blogs is actually quite reasonable & a big improvement.

    Do think that hotlinking entire albums is asking for trouble. The way we did AOTW (whatever happened to that) with a blog article & no links would be safer.

  10. Speaking of earworms (as TCM did above), where are this week’s, tinny? Ain’t they usually our little Tuesday treat?! I’ve grown quite used to popping in to check them out every week…

  11. Crikey, bishbosh! – hope tcm hasn’t decided to play a little April Fools’s joke on all of us! But that kind of thing would never happen…

  12. I got one for a post I did last week, and have deleted it.
    In a way I’m surprised they didn’t close the whole blog down, as they did with a few single mp3 blogs a couple of months back.

    It’s strange really, 99% of album download sites are on the Google Blog Template (and not exactly difficult to find) I guess they have to be seen to be doing something, I guess if the spill sticks with WordPress it’ll be alright, just use the WP player and you can’t download anything anyway!

    When I first had a look on the spill I was surprised there were a few albums posted, I assumed that as the blog isn’t aggregated on hype machine or elbos and that it looks like a single mp3 blog most of the time it might have escaped detection but clearly someone’s reading it.

    There are obviously loads of ways round this, perhaps the move to wordpress or another non google blog is enough, but maybe it’s time to change the way tracks are posted, eg delete the uploaded files after a week or so – just an idea mind, though that does seem a tad extreme, possibly.

  13. I just got one! however, when I clicked the link to see what it was I got ‘sorry, this post has been deleted’.

    I’ll go through my Public folder too and do a bit of deleting.

  14. aha…! I found you all! I don’t know…..you go offline for a week and everything changes! I’ll be back on when I getback to Japan…but the new blog looks good!

    Maybe, now’s a good time for a name change….hmm…..

  15. hi guys – don;t worry about the dmca takedown – we’ve moved here, out of google’s clutches (it was the main reason for the move) into as yet untouched wordpress land.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s